News Search International - Whistle Jacket

Search the Racing and Sports News Archives:

Type atleast three letters to find.


2024 March
  • Fri, Mar 01, 2024
    Several of these races provide a direct route to or a last chance of starting on Cup day,
2024 February
  • Tue, Feb 27, 2024
    We were hopeful Rachel King could bring home another group winner but alas it was not to be.
  • Mon, Feb 26, 2024
    And the winner of the world's richest race is Senor Buscador who just got a nostril into the frame.
  • Fri, Feb 23, 2024
    The racing starts on Friday with the International Jockeys Challenge.
  • Sun, Feb 18, 2024
    Now that the fire crackers have been put away it's back to the normal racing business.
  • Fri, Feb 16, 2024
    The main feature of this Friday's card is the Lord Glitters Handicap.
  • Mon, Feb 05, 2024
    This was the first of the three weekends of racing, trotting and ski-joring on the frozen lake.
  • Sun, Feb 04, 2024
    After yesterday's accident at Rosehill and his inability to take the rest of his rides that is the question.
2024 January
  • Mon, Jan 29, 2024
    And a highly successful day it was with record turnover, new track records and happy racegoers, so much so that Belinda Stronach has announced a similar program for late September to be known as the California Crown.
  • Sat, Jan 27, 2024
    The Pegasus World Cup now consists of three parts which will be run at Gulfstream Park on Saturday.
  • Fri, Jan 19, 2024
    Or in the parts which are not snowed in – New Orleians (Fair Grounds) and Los Angeles (Santa Anita.)
  • Tue, Jan 16, 2024
    The Macau Government and the Macau Jockey Club have agreed that racing will end on April 1, 2024.
  • Mon, Jan 15, 2024
    That was in the Class 2 Pok Oi Cup at Sha Tin on Saturday. He ran a very fast time and managed to collect a PP Bonus as well as his win money.
  • Mon, Jan 15, 2024
    Rachel King has been given a temperary licence by the JRA through to 5 May.
  • Fri, Jan 12, 2024
    This Friday's card will give an opportunity to many of the international brigade to stretch their legs on either the dirt or turf of Meydan.
  • Wed, Jan 10, 2024
    This is the only Group race run at Happy Valley.
2023 December
  • Fri, Dec 29, 2023
    Not only did she beat the boys in her race she became the first filly to win the Hopeful.
  • Wed, Dec 27, 2023
    This was what Xponential said after the 8yo won the Class 2 at Sha Tin on Boxing Day.
  • Wed, Dec 27, 2023
    Santa still had some goodies in the sack for those who went to Kempton.
  • Tue, Dec 26, 2023
    This is a replacement meeting for one that was lost earlier to a typhoon.
  • Sat, Dec 23, 2023
    This Class 2 over 2000m is the feature of Saturday's Sha Tin card.
  • Tue, Dec 19, 2023
    Following his win in the Asahi Hai Futurity Janiar Mantari is one for the little black book.
  • Tue, Dec 19, 2023
    Argentina's biggest race is G1 over 2400m and gives the winner an entry into the Breeders' Cup turf.
  • Sun, Dec 10, 2023
    The weather should be perfect but unfortunately Whistlejacket will have to undergo a Vet inspection tomorrow morning before being allowed out of the stable, as will West Wind Blows.
2023 November
  • Thu, Nov 30, 2023
    GOAT means Greatest Of All Time and is used to describe outstanding sports people.
  • Sat, Nov 25, 2023
    We may have been wrong in saying that this was the first time female jockeys had ridden in the Japan Cup.
  • Sat, Nov 25, 2023
    This will be run at Fuchu, Tokyo on Sunday 26th November over 2400m with a field of 18.
  • Mon, Nov 13, 2023
    Cody Dorman was born with a rare disorder which left him wheel chair-bound and nonverbal.
  • Mon, Nov 13, 2023
    The Panasonic Cup at Sha Tin was marred by the fatal accident to Tuchel.
  • Sat, Nov 11, 2023
    There's the G2 Daily Hai Nisai on Saturday and the Queen Elizabeth II Cup on Sunday.
  • Thu, Nov 02, 2023
    At Santa Anita with the beautiful views where the babies will have a big day out on Friday.
2023 October
  • Sun, Oct 29, 2023
    This end-of-season G1 will be run on Sunday at Longchamp over 3200m.
  • Sat, Oct 28, 2023
    It's the G1 Futurity with a track inspection due Saturday morning UK time.
  • Sat, Oct 28, 2023
    There are two Tenno Shos in Japan - In Spring it's over 3000m and Autumn 2000m.
  • Fri, Oct 27, 2023
    There's one from Hong Kong who will start favourite and one from Ireland that may have gone under the radar.
  • Mon, Oct 23, 2023
    The racing did go ahead but on the inner or hurdle course and the going there was soft.
  • Fri, Oct 20, 2023
    Far Hills is in New Jersey and once a year has a race day for jumps racing which they say proceeds whether rain or shine.
  • Fri, Oct 20, 2023
    The big question will be the weather. There is to be a meeting on course Friday morning UK time regarding moving to the inner track.
  • Sun, Oct 15, 2023
    It's also Bow Tie day at Sha Tin so the guys can get dressed up!
  • Sat, Oct 14, 2023
    Will be run in Kyoto on Sunday 15th October
  • Mon, Oct 09, 2023
    The Sun Chariot at Newmarket on Saturday lived up to the hype.
  • Sun, Oct 08, 2023
    Being a short train ride from Prague makes this a popular venue for tourists as well as locals.
  • Mon, Oct 02, 2023
    There was good weather, large crowds and great racing on both days of the Arc weekend.
  • Mon, Oct 02, 2023
    The 57th Sprinters' Stakes G1 at Nakayama saw Sodashi's baby sister Mama Cocha get her first G1.
  • Mon, Oct 02, 2023
    There was a bit of moving fixtures around when Saturday's Belmont at the Big A had to be moved to Sunday.
  • Sun, Oct 01, 2023
    As we thought Saturday's racing was off but the card has been moved to Sunday and Sunday's card to next Wednesday
2023 September
  • Sat, Sep 30, 2023
    There is so much to write about that we are slicing this gateau into three pieces starting off with Saturday.
  • Mon, Sep 25, 2023
    As expected the heavy going put paid to some of the runners in Saturday's features.
  • Fri, Sep 22, 2023
    On a pretty quiet weekend this is one of the more interesting races.
  • Fri, Sep 22, 2023
    It's a pretty quiet weekend in the US as well with these two Gr 1 races at Parx the highlights.
  • Sun, Sep 17, 2023
    Following the Irish and English St Legers the German version will be run at Dortmund on Sunday.
  • Sun, Sep 17, 2023
    Pretty much a "run of the mill" day with the top race coming at Race 3.
  • Mon, Sep 11, 2023
    The two Internationals – the Korea Sprint and the Korea Cup – were run Sunday at Gwacheon.
  • Sat, Sep 09, 2023
    And the G1 1000m will be a flying one with the top speedsters competing.
  • Mon, Sep 04, 2023
    With the Arc and Arc Trials not far away his was a great day out at Longchamp.
  • Sun, Sep 03, 2023
    With French racing now back at headquarters there are 5 Group races on the card.
2023 August
  • Mon, Aug 28, 2023
    Still some good each ways on the last day of the Ebor meeting.
  • Wed, Aug 23, 2023
    The Romans gave us the name for this meeting – Ebor being the Roman name for York.
  • Sat, Aug 19, 2023
    Saturday sees the running of two Group races for the babies.
  • Fri, Aug 18, 2023
    The Palio in Siena is always excitement plus and this year's August edition was no exception.
  • Tue, Aug 15, 2023
    It was the 133rd running of the Grosser Preis von Berlin at Hoppegarten.
  • Mon, Aug 14, 2023
    The Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia was there and the mood of the crowd was festive.
  • Mon, Aug 07, 2023
    The Nicholas Caullery trained King Gold won the Deauville feature on Sunday under a good ride from Stephan Pasquier.
  • Mon, Aug 07, 2023
    Was marred by the fatal fall of Maple Leaf Mel in the Test.
  • Sat, Aug 05, 2023
    Del Mar has the better of the weather lately as Saratoga gets soggy.
2023 July
  • Mon, Jul 31, 2023
    Monday sees the opening of the fabulous Galway Week
  • Sun, Jul 30, 2023
    Time to get out the bucket and spade and head to Deauville.
  • Fri, Jul 28, 2023
    The King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes will assemble a star studded field.
  • Thu, Jul 27, 2023
    In March 2020 the FBI swooped and arrested a network of 31 horsemen, veterinarians, and equine pharmaceutical suppliers on charges of using illegal and mis-branded substances on horses.
  • Thu, Jul 27, 2023
    The Minstrel Stakes will be run here following the abandonment of the Curragh on Sunday.
  • Mon, Jul 24, 2023
    Now that summer's there and the rain led to the Curragh being abandoned on Sunday.
  • Mon, Jul 17, 2023
    There was a Group 2 and two G3s at Chantilly on Sunday al with small fields.
  • Thu, Jul 13, 2023
    This popular meeting gets underway this Thursday with the a G3 and two G2s.
  • Mon, Jul 10, 2023
    At Sha Tin on Sunday Purton equalled Moreira's winners for the season total of 170 wins.
  • Sat, Jul 08, 2023
    Or Sunday if you prefer – but whichever way you say it there's a great G1 in prospect.
  • Fri, Jul 07, 2023
    Ladies first in the form of the Belmont Oaks over 2000m turf.
  • Fri, Jul 07, 2023
    The Eclipse is named after one of our most favourite horses and one of the greatest ever.
  • Mon, Jul 03, 2023
    Aidan O'Brien's 100th Classic winner was certainly one to remember.
  • Sun, Jul 02, 2023
    This will be run at the Hamburg-Horn with 20 3yos tackling the 2400m trip.
2023 June
  • Fri, Jun 30, 2023
    With much of an end of term feeling to the program the Class 2 Reunification Cup is the highlight.
  • Mon, Jun 26, 2023
    Halfway through Sunday's racing Zac Purton had the Jockeys Championship in his grasp.
  • Mon, Jun 19, 2023
    Joao Moreira's return to Brazil has now been crowned by winning the Grande Premio Brasil, the country's most important race.
  • Sun, Jun 18, 2023
    It's the Grande Premio Brasil G1 over 2400m at the picturesque Gavea track in Rio.
  • Sun, Jun 18, 2023
    The 174th running of the Prix de Diane (French Oaks) will take place at Chantilly Sunday.
  • Sun, Jun 18, 2023
    The forecast has both but showers more in the morning so could be good for the afternoon although very humid.
  • Mon, Jun 12, 2023
    And trainer Jena Antonucci thus became the first female trainer to win a Triple Crown race.
  • Mon, Jun 12, 2023
    Hollie Doyle went to Milan not to go shopping but to ride in the Italian Oaks.
  • Mon, Jun 12, 2023
    The idea of twilight meetings in summer is a good one but can you please check the weather forecast.
  • Sat, Jun 10, 2023
    The miracle has happened and the skies have improved enough to allow racing.
  • Sat, Jun 03, 2023
    One of the more disturbing bits of news out of the Kentucky Derby was that of fatalities on the track.
  • Sat, Jun 03, 2023
    Named for Mr Izaemon Yasuda whose statue overlooks the Parade Ring.
2023 May
  • Tue, May 30, 2023
    This is a big holiday long weekend in Europe so Longchamp and Cologne put on some top races.
  • Mon, May 29, 2023
    After an unsuccessful run in the English Guineas, Tahiyra won the Irish version at the Curragh on Sunday.
  • Mon, May 29, 2023
    First he wins the G1 Tokyo Yushun (Derby) and then doubles up in the Megura Kinen G2.
  • Sat, May 27, 2023
    The Royal Scotsman has been supplemented for this and comes with whistles blaring.
  • Sun, May 21, 2023
    But not silent as there is a Class 2 and some interest in the different titles races.
  • Mon, May 15, 2023
    Three horses with "red" in their names saluted at three different tracks on Saturday.
  • Mon, May 08, 2023
    Unfortunately the rain came to Newmarket and somewhat spoiled the party despite it not being unknown in that part of the world.
  • Mon, May 08, 2023
    Another very good run for the Caspar Fownes trained Straight Arron in the Queen Mother Memorial Cup G3 at Sha Tin Sunday.
  • Mon, May 08, 2023
    The G1 race over the Fuchu course went to the Duramente colt Champagne Colour on 22.0.
  • Sun, May 07, 2023
    Well the rain came to Newmarket yesterday and caused many problems.
  • Fri, May 05, 2023
    Despite other activities going on in London many eyes will be focused on Newmarket on Saturday and Sunday.
2023 April
  • Mon, Apr 24, 2023
    The site work has finished and racing in Kyoto is actually in Kyoto from this weekend.
  • Sat, Apr 15, 2023
    It's the big day at Aintree and 40 horses will line up in the big Chase. 30 Jumps and a 6900m run separates the gate from the post.
  • Sat, Apr 15, 2023
    The 3yo boys in Japan will be lining up for the Satsuki Sho, the Ja