2023 Bow Mistress Trophy: Race History

Which of the mares takes an important prize in the Bow Mistress Trophy run at Hobart on Friday shows some decent mares as winners?

Ocean Embers winning the Bow Mistress
Ocean Embers winning the Bow Mistress Picture: Peter Staples

Ocean Embers was a nice one. Who wins the 2023 Bow Mistress Trophy (1200m) at Hobart on Friday?


The Bow Mistress Trophy is a Group 3 race for fillies and mares conducted by Tasmanian Racing Club at Elwick, Hobart.

The Bow Mistress Trophy was first run in 2006 and was won by Con's Amy. The race is named after a top mare from Tasmania who won a Liston Stakes.

It was worth $150,000 in 2023.

The Bow Mistress Trophy is run over 1200m under Weights For Age conditions. Prior to 2012 it was a Listed race but is now a G3.

I Love It ran in three straight years – 1st in 2015, 2nd in 2016, 3rd in 2017.

Notable winners of the Bow Mistress Trophy include Flying Ruby (2009), Lady Lynette (2011), Rebel Bride (2012/2013), I Love It (2015), Ocean Embers (2017) and Life On The Wire (2019).

The 2022 Bow Mistress Trophy was won by Zoushine from Award Winner and Bons Abroad.

Racing and Sports