2023 Hobart Cup: Race History

Occasionally a big name arrives in the Hobart Cup run at Hobart on Sunday provides the odds good horse.

Blutigeroo winning the The B M W
Blutigeroo winning the The B M W Picture: Racing and Sports

Blutigeroo would win a G1 in Sydney after this. Not sure that will happen out of the 2023 Hobart Cup (2400m) at Hobart on Sunday.


The Hobart Cup is a Group 3 race for stayers conducted by Tasmanian Racing Club at Elwick, Hobart.

The Hobart Cup was first run in 1875 and was won by Ella.

The Hobart Cup is run over 2400m under handicap conditions. Prior to 2013 it has varied in distance and was even a two miler at the start. It was worth $300,000 in 2023.

As a Principal race initially, it was a Group 3 from 1980 to 2003, then G2 2004-2006 then back to G3 now.

Piping Lane won the 1972 Hobart Cup and also won the Melbourne Cup in the same year.

The 1997 winner Palos Verdes produced multiple G1 winner and Cox Plate hero El Segundo.

In 2007 Blutigeroo won by a length and two runs later won the G1 BMW at Rosehill.

When Pretty Punk won in 2018, it gave Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas the Bow Mistress/Hobart Cup big weekend double.

Locally trained Eastender created some history by winning the Hobart Cup as part of a triumph in the big three Tasmanian Cups – the Devonport Cup, Hobart Cup and Launceston Cup.

Notable winners of the Hobart Cup include Roonsleigh (1927/1928), Seriki (1955/1956), Macdalla (1964/1965), Piping Lane (1972), Brallos (1976/1977), Frontier Boy (1993), Palos Verdes (1997), St. Andrews (2002), Blutigeroo (2007), Growl (2010), Geegees Blackflash (2012/2015) and Eastender (2019).

The 2022 Hobart Cup was won by Ho Ho Khan In A Twinkling and White Hawk.

Racing and Sports