2023 Ranvet Stakes: Race History

Some new blood will be seen in the Ranvet Stakes run at Rosehill on Saturday.

VERRY ELLEEGANT winning the Ranvet Stakes
VERRY ELLEEGANT winning the Ranvet Stakes Picture: Martin King / Sportpix

Verry Elleegant ran several times here. The 2023 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill on Saturday will be different.


The Ranvet Stakes is a Group 1 race for three year olds and up conducted by the Australian Turf Club at Rosehill Gardens.

The Ranvet Stakes was first run in 1902 and was won by Lady Grafton.

The Ranvet Stakes is run over 2000m under WFA conditions and was known as the Rawson Stakes after the Governor of NSW Sir Harry Rawson.

2022 Ranvet Stakes - Montefilia

It has been run over varying distances and even went to Canterbury in 2008.

Ranvet Stakes-Queen Elizabeth double – 6 times with the most recent Addeybb (2020).

It's not been a great race for the fillies or mares. Verry Elleegant won but before her it was Silent Achiever in 2014 with Tuesday Joy (2008) the previous one to that. Previous Filly winner was Wenona Girl (1961). Most recent 3yo winner was Gold Guru in 1998.

TJ Smith won the Ranvet Stakes an amazing 12 times and Gai Waterhouse has won 7 times.

Last horse to win coming off a non-stakes race was Arkady who had won the Queanbeyan Cup the run before in 1997.

In 1939 Ajax was beaten by Spear Chief when starting at the odds of 40-1 on while chasing his 19th straight win.

Darazari won the 1999 Ranvet Stakes on protest with Tie The Knot first over the line but the great stayer would get redemption winning the next two years.

Avilius would win the Ranvet then back up and take the Tancred Stakes in 2019.

Addeybb was brought to Australia for William Haggas for the Queen Elizabeth (which he'd win) but won the Ranvet on the way through giving England's Tom Marquand his first G1.

12 months on Verry Elleegant turned the tables on her English rival in a great battle from the home turn for the second year running.

It was worth $1,000,000 in 2023.

Notable Winners of Ranvet Stakes include Poseidon (1908), Nightmarch (1930), Peter Pan (1935), Lough Neagh (1936, 1937), Bernborough (1946), Redcraze (1957), Tulloch (1958), Wenona Girl (1961, 1964), Sky High (1962, 1963), Gunsynd (1971, 1973), Beau Zam (1988, 1989), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1991), Veandercross (1993), Tie The Knot (2000, 2001), Theseo (2009, 2010), Manighar (2012), Gailo Chop (2018), Avilius (2019), Addeybb (2020) and Verry Elleegant (2021).

The 2022 Ranvet Stakes was won by Montefilia from Verry Elleegant and Angel Of Truth.

Racing and Sports