2023 Northerly Stakes: Race History

The Race History of the Northerly Stakes run at Ascot on Saturday has some quality recent winners.

AMELIA'S JEWEL winning the Drummond Golf - Northerly Stakes
AMELIA'S JEWEL winning the Drummond Golf - Northerly Stakes

Amelia's Jewel sure holds that up nicely. Who wins the 2023 Northerly Stakes (1800m) at Ascot on Saturday?

2023 Northerly Stakes: Nominations


The Northerly Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the top grade at Ascot conducted by Perth Racing.

The Northerly Stakes is run over 1800m. It was first run in 1976 and was won by Family Of Man.

The race is the follow up from the Handicap Railway Stakes.

There have been runnings of the Northerly Stakes at a mile or even 2000m but the vast majority have been over 1800m.

The Northerly Stakes was a Principal Race then became a Group 1 from 1979.

The race has had many names from the Marlboro '50,000', Western Mail Classic, Rothwells, Winfield Stakes, Beat Diabetes 2 Stakes and Fruit 'N' Veg Stakes before being known the most amount in its history as the Kingston Town Classic. However in 2022 it was re-named after one of the most famous WA horses in Northerly.

Mares have only won 3 times in 40 years but a filly saluted in 2015 and again in 2018, 2019 and 2022.

11 x 3yos have won the last 36 Classics. 8 of the 11 before that were won by 3yos. A remarkable transformation but they did win in 2013/15/18/19/22.

Playing God became the fifth horse to win two editions – the others being Niconero, Family of Man, Summer Beau and Old Comrade. He also sired 2019 winner Kay Cee.

Cox Plate/top eastern states WFA form was part of the early history of the race via the likes of Family Of Man, Kingston Town, Vo Rogue and Better Loosen Up.

Those to do the Railway Stakes/Northerly Stakes double are Better Loosen Up, Old Comrade, Modem and Sniper's Bullet.

A high quality filly Arcadia Queen was the choice leading rider William Pike made over the stable mate and Railway winner Galaxy Star in 2018 and it proved the right move when she won by 4.5 lengths.

While the 5-1on fav Western Empire was rolled in 2021, Regal Power winning still meant owner Bob Peters and trainers Grant & Alana Williams won the three legs of the G1 Masters Series.

2003 running was at Belmont racecourse.

The Northerly Stakes was worth $1,500,000 in 2023.

Notable winners of the Northerly Stakes include Amelia's Jewel (2022), Regal Power (2021), Arcadia Queen (2018), Stratum Star (2016), Perfect Reflection (2015), Moriarty (2014), Luckygray (2012), Playing God (2010/2011), Sniper's Bullet (2009), Niconero (2006/2008), Modem (2004), Old Comrade (2000/2001), Summer Beau (1996/1997), Old Role (1991), Better Loosen Up (1989), Vo Rogue (1988), Military Plume (1986), Bounty Hawk (1983), Kingston Town (1982), Sovereign Red (1980), Mighty Kingdom (1979)  and Family Of Man (1976/1978).

The 2022 Northerly Stakes was won by Amelia's Jewel from Ironclad and Steinem.

Racing and Sports