Defeated Aussies lap up T20 tour of India

Australia have taken plenty of positives out of their five-match T20 series in India despite losing 4-1.

BEN MCDERMOTT. Picture: Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

Ben McDermott says he loved every minute of Australia's low-key T20 tour of India despite failing to come away with a series win.

India finished as 4-1 winners after pipping Australia by six runs in the fifth and final clash in Bengaluru.on Sunday night (Monday AEDT).

McDermott cracked 54 off 36 balls to give Australia an excellent chance of chasing down India's 8-160.

The 28-year-old plundered five sixes - including a 98m monster belted out of the stadium.

But Australia's late stumble resulted in them finishing on 8-154.

Australia were missing a glut of their top-line T20 players for most of the series.

By the time the final match rolled around, Travis Head was the sole remaining player who had featured in Australia's ODI World Cup victory last month.

But the absence of Australia's biggest stars meant a host of fringe players were handed the chance to shine.

McDermott played his first T20 internationals since April, 2022, while Aaron Hardie, Josh Philippe, Chris Green, Matt Short, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff and Tanveer Sangha were others to lap up the opportunity to play for their country.

"It was fantastic," said McDermott, who was amongst the reinforcements flown to India midway through the series.

"Any chance you get to play international cricket for Australia, let alone come over to India and play in front of some amazing crowds - I've never experienced anything like this before.

"And not just me. Philippe and Dwarshuis (getting to play), Chris Green making his debut - it was just a really good opportunity for all the guys who have been putting some good hard work in at home in the Big Bash.

"Just a really good experience, and loving every minute of it."

Australia's full attention will now shift to the three-match Test series against Pakistan, which gets underway on December 14 at Perth's Optus Stadium.