2023 Rubiton Stakes: Race History

The Race History of the Rubiton Stakes run at Sandown Hillside on Saturday has been won by some great sprinters.

Chautauqua winning the Schweppes Rubiton Stakes
Chautauqua winning the Schweppes Rubiton Stakes Picture: Racing and Sports

Chautauqua took it out before he became famous. What happens in the 2023 Rubiton Stakes (1100m) at Sandown Hillside on Saturday?

2023 Rubiton Stakes: Nominations


The Rubiton Stakes is a Group 2 race for open class sprinters conducted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The Rubiton Stakes was first run in 1989 and was won by Zeditave.

The Rubiton Stakes is run over 1100m under Set Weights and Penalties conditions. It was worth $300,000 in 2023. It was WFA until 2009.

The race is named after the Cox Plate winner Rubiton.

It was Listed until 1991, then Group 3 to 2012 and then G2 after that.

Most runnings have been at Caulfield but Sandown holds the race again in 2023.

Mares had won the three editions before Nature Strip but hadn't this century before that. He became an elite G1 sprinter during 2019. Anaheed would then win for the fillies in 2020 and Prophet's Thumb again for the mares in 2021.

Notable winners of the Rubiton Stakes include Zeditave (1989), Redelva (1991), Schillaci (1993/1995), Alannon (1994), Spartacus (1997), Al Mansour (1998), Flavour (1999), Miss Pennymoney (2000), Super Elegant (2003/2004/2005), Bomber Bill (2006), Here De Angels (2008/2010), Eagle Falls (2012), Lankan Rupee (2014), Chautauqua (2015), Heatherly (2016), Super Cash (2017/2018) and Nature Strip (2019).

The 2022 Rubiton Stakes was won by Marine One from Oxley Road and Sword Of Mercy.

Racing and Sports