2023 Coronation Cup: Race History

Class stayers win the Coronation Cup run at Epsom on Friday.

GHAIYYATH winning the Hurworth Bloodstock Coronation Cup Stakes in Newmarket, England.
GHAIYYATH winning the Hurworth Bloodstock Coronation Cup Stakes in Newmarket, England. Picture: George Selwyn/Pool via Getty Images

A big winner was Ghaiyyath who'd become Horse Of The Year. Will we see another elite stayer in the 2023 Coronation Cup (2420m) at Epsom on Friday?


The Coronation Cup is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for open class horses at Epsom conducted by the Jockey Club.

The Coronation Cup is run over one mile, four furlongs and 6 yards for four year olds and up. It was first run in 1902 and was won by Osboch.

It is the leading race for older horses running at Epsom each season. It is an obvious lead up for horses heading to Royal Ascot.

So easy! Imperious Hukum wins the Coronation Cup & grabs a first Group One for trainer Owen Burrows

Run over the same course as the Derby and Oaks and on the same weekend, it is often a small field.

The race was originated to commemorate King Edwards VII's coronation. During the wars it was conducted at Newbury and Newmarket.

In 2020 due to the coronavirus restrictions, the race was run at Newmarket. It was back to Epsom in 2021.

St Nicholas Abbey is the only three time winner in 2011, 2012, 2013.

The equal oldest winner is the grand French horse Cirrus Des Aigles who scored as an 8yo in 2014.

Elite horse Cracksman was expected to bolt in in 2018 when a 7-2 on elect however he scrambled home by a head.

Leading trainer is Ballydoyle's Aidan O'Brien who has trained the winner eight times over the last 18 years. His winners include fabled stayers like Yeats, St Nicholas Abbey and Highland Reel.

Most wins as a jockey is by Lester Piggott with nine.

The Coronation Cup was worth £425,000 in 2023.

Notable winners of the Coronation Cup include Ghaiyyath (2020), Cracksman (2018), Highland Reel (2017), Postponed (2016), Cirrus Des Aigles (2014), St Nicholas Abbey (2011/2012/2013), Fame And Glory (2010), Yeats (2005), Warrsan (2003/2004), Daliapour (2000), Daylami (1999), Singspiel (1997), Swain (1996), Triptych (1987/1988), Rainbow Quest (1985), Roberto (1973), Mill Reef (1972), Petite Etoile (1960/1961), The White Knight (1907/1908) and Pretty Polly (1905/1906).

The 2022 Coronation Cup was won by Hukum from Pyledriver and High Definition.

Racing and Sports